Product detail

5th Wave (#1 Film Tie-in)

5th Wave (#1 Film Tie-in)

Author: Rick Yancey
Series: The 5th Wave
$24.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

*Don't miss the major film of The 5th Wave by Sony Pictures starring Chloe Grace Moretz (If I Stay)*


'Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances' Entertainment Weekly


*The 5th Wave is the award-winning and bestselling first book in an epic series from award-winning Rick Yancey that' s perfect for fans of The Hunger Games*


THE 1st WAVE: Took out half a million people.
THE 2nd WAVE: Put that number to shame.
THE 3rd WAVE: Lasted a little longer. Twelve weeks . . . Four billion dead.
IN THE 4th WAVE, You can't trust that people are still people.
AND THE 5th WAVE? No one knows. But it's coming.


On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs.
Runs from the beings that only look human, who have scattered Earth's last survivors.
To stay alone is to stay alive, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope.


Now Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.


www.The5thWaveIsComing.com


'A modern sci-fi masterpiece . . . Should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires.' USA Today


'Wildly entertaining . . . ' Justin Cronin, The New York Times Book Review


'The pace is relentless' Heat


'Chilling' Sun


'Nothing short of amazing' Kirkus (starred review)


'This book's scary!' Teen Now (5 starred review)


'This is DAMN and WOW territory . . . One of the best books I've read in years.' Melissa
Marr, New York Times bestselling author.


'...a twisty survival story that borrows elements from romance, horror and dystopian fiction' Wall Street Journal


'Breathtakingly fast-paced and original' Melissa De La Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of the Blue Bloods series.


'An epic sci-fi adventure about a terrifying alien invasion. You'll read it in one sitting' Bookseller


'Heartfelt, violent, paranoid epic, filled with big heroics and bigger surprises' Booklist (starred review)


'Gripping' Publishers Weekly


'Borrow this one from your teen's nightstand while they're at school.' People Magazine


Winner of the 2014 Red House Children's Book Award
2014 Children's Choice Book Awards Finalist for Teen Book of the Year
A YALSA 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults
A YALSA 2014 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers
A Booklist 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults
A VOYA 2013 Perfect Ten
An Amazon Best Book of the Year


 


Books in the series:
The 5th Wave (Book 1)
The Infinite Sea (Book 2)
The Last Star (Book 3)

Reviews

Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances ... JUST READ IT Entertainment Weekly Wildly entertaining... I couldn't turn the pages fast enough -- Justin Cronin The New York Times A modern sci-fi masterpiece... should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires. USA Today Nothing short of amazing Kirkus (starred review) Chilling Sun Action-packed intrigue MTV.COM This book is scary! Teen Now (5 starred review) Rick Yancey knows his onions... the book packs real power SFX This is DAMN and WOW territory. Quite simply, one of the best books I've read in years -- Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author ...a twisty survival story that borrows elements from romance, horror and dystopian fiction Wall Street Journal Breathtakingly fast-paced and original, The 5th Wave is a reading tsunami that grabs hold and won't let go. -- Melissa De La Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of the Blue Bloods series. Yancey's heartfelt, violent, paranoid epic, filled with big heroics and bigger surprises, is part War of the Worlds, part Starship Troopers, part Invasion of the Body Snatchers, and part The Stand ... a sure thing for reviewers and readers alike. Booklist (starred review) A fantastic read. The 5th Wave is an electrifying page-turner. -- Kathy Reichs, New York Times bestselling author An epic sci-fi adventure about a terrifying alien invasion. You'll read it in one sitting Bookseller A gripping SF trilogy about an Earth decimated by an alien invasion... the question of what it means to be human is at the forefront Publishers Weekly Borrow this one from your teen's nightstand while they're at school People Magazine By turns heart-pounding and contemplative ... The 5th Wave will thrill you, chill you, and challenge you to keep the pages turning fast enough Hypable.com Utterly gripping Metro Herald High adventure with mystery and heart The Sunday Times A cut above anything else in the genre. Sunday Telegraph The pace is RELENTLESS Heat

Author description

Rick Yancey (http://www.rickyancey.com) is the author of several adult novels and the memoir Confessions of a Tax Collector. His first young-adult novel, The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, was a finalist for the Carnegie Medal. In 2010, his novel, The Monstrumologist, received Michael L. Printz Honor, and the sequel, The Curse of the Wendigo, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780141366470
  • : Penguin Books Ltd
  • : Penguin Books Ltd
  • : August 2015
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : December 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 496
  • : Rick Yancey
  • : Paperback
  • : Film Tie-In Edition
  • : en
  • : 823.92
  • : Teen - Grade 7-9, Age 12-14